Suffolk Village of the Year 2023

Parish Council Report, November 2016

Cockfield Parish Council Notes

The Parish Council met on Thursday 24th November.

Our District Councillor, Clive Arthey, provided a report that detailed a number of changes at Babergh District Council.

  • A new Chief Executive has been appointed, Arthur Charvonia, who will take on his new responsibilities early in the New Year
  • The council will relocate its offices from Hadleigh to Endeavour House in Ipswich (the home of Suffolk County Council)
  • A new Combined Legal Service has been established for Babergh and three other councils which will be based in Bury St Edmunds

Our County Councillor, Jenny Antill advised us that, despite the withdrawal of the proposed devolution for Norfolk and Suffolk following lack of support from various Norfolk councils, Suffolk will continue to investigate ways of concluding its own deal.

The damaged ‘give way’ signs on the A1141 have been reported to the County Council and information is also being sought on the replenishment of grit heaps around the village.

The question of installing a waste bin at Mill Corner was discussed. It was decided that the costs outweigh the potential benefits and this item will not be pursued further.

It was reported that the red telephone box at Cross Green is listed and is not therefore included in the BT list of redundant boxes to be removed. The Parish Council has registered an interest in taking over the other two red boxes in the village and maintaining them as part of the village landscape.

The laybys on Gt Green and the area around the pond have both been subject to recent work and are greatly improved.

In early December a tree warden forum for Suffolk will be held in Cockfield  based on the work and developments at Earl’s Meadow. This is a prestigious event for the village and reflects the efforts of all concerned.

It was noted that the cemetery is now ready for leaves to be collected and the final grass cut of the year.

The next meeting of the Parish Council will take place on Thursday 26th January 2017 at 7.30 pm.

The Parish Council may be contacted through the Clerk, Doug Reed, on 01359 241009 or by e-mail at


Scroll to top